Be grateful for the small things


At work they used to call me the elephant hunter. I could never be bothered with the small recurring deals, I rather worked for months for one kill which not only made the same profit but much more importantly made you famous. The older you get the more difficult it is to kill the big ones. There are fewer out there and you have more patience to grinding it out the older you get and achieve the same result.

Whenever I feel bad about something I usually go for a run or a walk (depending how fat I am) and just let go. I am in the fortunate position that I currently live in a part of Vienna which gets me right in the woods after 5 minutes on a street with no cars. Whenever you have a set back in your life you should start being grateful for smaller things and not whining about missing out on the one big thing. During my run today I started smiling after a couple of minutes when I found a path which I have never walked on although I live in the same hood for more than 15 years and I was grateful for it. Even if your life seems to be the same old grind day in and day out I can assure you that you can discover small things you have not been aware of before and you should be grateful for.

If you are not a nature guy try a new coffeeplace you have not known about. Don’t do the same routine every day. Break out from it. Even if it only means to run your normal round counterclockwise. If the weather is as miserable as it was in the past, stop complaining about. Put some good shoes on and a proper jacket and take a brisk walk in the rain and storm. For kids rain or cold is not bad weather as long as we tell them so. If you take your kids out in the rain as often as ouy can, they will not differentiate between good or bad, they will just say it is hot or cold or wet. I did take a couple walks in the rain recently and although you feel stupid at the beginning you feel outstanding when you come home. You can be sure the park will be empty, the air is clean, it wont be cold as long as you walk fast enough. Be grateful for the ability to walk in the rain. Even if it is only for 20 minutes, it is worth it. If you have been running in the rain and you liked it, you will love to run the sun.

Go out and be grateful for small things and let others know. Life is too short to be a miserable old fart.

Leave a Reply

